EARMILK’s Top Albums of 2012

2012-top-albums

Aiyiyiyiyiyiyi. I’ve been gone too long! Well I’m back now and I’m ready to bust out a slew of posts. Between the holidays, a bit of traveling, some getting sick, skipping the commercials embedded so carefully in my Taiwanese dramas, and an unattractive amount of eating, I wasn’t able to post as much as I had wanted in my 3 week break. But I need to post this list before the first month of the year is over so keep reading!

If you read about music at all, you’ll know that most publications come up with end of the year top album (or song) lists. In all honesty, I’m not sure that these lists are so much important as they are informative, considering how subjective a an individual’s taste in music can be. I find it’s better to regard these lists as valuable for their ability to introduce you to groups or artists you may have heard of but never considered listening to. I know barely anything about electronic dance music but being part of a music blog has taught me more than I would ever have naturally learned about the genre.

For the second year in a row, I helped to compile EARMILK’s Top Albums of the Year. Last year we divided the albums by genre, creating Top 50 lists for electronic, indie and hip-hop, the three main genres the blog covers. This year we opted to combine all genres into a singular list to encourage our readers (and ourselves) to venture beyond their regular music preferences and see what all of our writers and editors are listening too. Whereas 2011 had me binge listening to at least 3-4 hip hop albums for a two week period, this year I was able to contribute in a more well-rounded fashion with regards to the formatting of the list, as well as to the indie picks on the list.

Check back for my personal Top 10 Albums of 2012 (Yes: I know it’s 2013. No, I do not care that my list is almost a month late) and without further ado:

EARMILK’s Top 50 Albums of 2012 — #50-26

EARMILK’s Top 50 Albums of 2012 — #25-1

Image: EARMILK

2 comments
  1. Welcome back to the blogosphere! So excited to read your posts. Also, great album picks!

    • lizisms said:

      Thanks Jame!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

