No Time To Waste

As Abe Lincoln once said, “Good things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle.” I hope he really said that but I got it off the Internet so who knows. Accuracy aside, I see the truth in that statement and while I’ve been here nearly three months, I feel like my days of hustling here in Hong Kong have only just begun.

I recently started writing for TimeOut Hong Kong, which has been a stretching experience in many ways. But I’m grateful for the lessons I’ve gotten out of this opportunity so far (see my last post), including learning more about this cool SAR and understanding its complex identity, not to mention shattering (or just expanding) all of my pre-conceived notions about its people, and its past, present and future. Sometimes life requires you to pay your dues and I’m pretty sure I’m doing exactly that right now. Check back here regularly as I’ll try to post links to all the writing I get to do here. For now, enjoy a slice of HK life — a little music, some arts and culture and a whole lot of food.

Music

Psychic Ills

I’m trying not to get too excited at the thought of all the music that I get to explore while here but I’m just really excited about it. Like unprofessionally, fan-girl status excited. Hopefully I will write about more music in the future!

Books

Joyeux anniversaire

Parenthèses Librairie, Hong Kong’s only French bookshop, recently counted 25 years of being here and I had the privilege of covering their joyful celebration. Who would have thought Hong Kong was home to so many Francophones and Francophiles?

Food

Hong Kong’s Best… Snake Soup

You know that joke about how if Adam and Eve were Chinese, they would have eaten the snake and not the apple? No? Okay, well there you go. I’ve yet to try snake soup but now that it’s getting a bit colder, I can’t wait to sink my teeth into a steaming bowl of she geng.

Hong Kong’s Best… White Truffle Menus

The other day, my friend Mary was telling me that there is one restaurant for every 600-700 people here in Hong Kong. With a population of over 7 million, that is a lot of restaurants. This is truly a foodie’s paradise, especially when white truffle season rolls around…

Entertainment

Levels

I visited Hong Kong’s newest club and lived to tell about it. 😉

Thanks for reading!

3 comments
  1. neenz said:

    go liz!!

    • lizisms said:

      Hi Nimzzzzz! 😉 Thanks for reading!

  2. Caroline! said:

    GOOD JOB.

Leave a Reply

